About John Thomson Construction
John Thomson Construction Ltd was founded in 1952 by the late John Thomson, who was a stonemason to trade. From small beginnings the business has steadily grown over the last 67 years to become a successful multi-disciplinary company and one of Arran's largest employers. John Thomson retired in 1988 handing the business over to his two sons Iain and Graham who, together with a strong management team, continue to run the business today.
The company operates mainly on the Island of Arran on the west coast of Scotland, and has 5 main divisions – House Building, Construction, Civil Engineering, Plant & Haulage, and Quarrying & Concrete. We also operate a motor garage, a small builder's merchant and a petrol station. The company's head office, builder's merchant, joiner's workshop, motor garage and petrol station are located in Lamlash. Our Plant and Transport depot and ready mixed concrete facility are located at Market Road in Brodick. We also operate a sand and gravel quarry at Sannox and a hard rock quarry on the String Road near Shiskine.
Our management team and workforce have extensive construction and engineering experience. We have a substantial land bank and work closely with several architects allowing us to offer a complete package from design to completion.